Captain
Chris Scales

Member since July 2016

Ucluelet, Canada

Background
Hi, I’m Chris Scales head guide and manager for Hot Pursuit Charters. Some may know me as Bubba, a nick name that I acquired over the years fishing the West Coast. Not only is fishing in my blood, it’s in my name! I have over 25 years experience in the fishing industry and have worked at some of the finest resorts British Columbia has to offer. Including Island West Resort, Canadian Princess, Hakai Beach Resort, and the M.V. Salmon Seeker, just to name a few. Growing up in Port Alberni gave me the opportunity to fish Ucluelet and the Barclay Sound for most of my life. Fishing is my life, and my Passion. I look forward to fishing with you and making new friends.

Hey, I'm Captain Chris Scales

Ucluelet, Canada
Background
Hi, I’m Chris Scales head guide and manager for Hot Pursuit Charters. Some may know me as Bubba, a nick name that I acquired over the years fishing the West Coast. Not only is fishing in my blood, it’s in my name! I have over 25 years experience in the fishing industry and have worked at some of the finest resorts British Columbia has to offer. Including Island West Resort, Canadian Princess, Hakai Beach Resort, and the M.V. Salmon Seeker, just to name a few. Growing up in Port Alberni gave me the opportunity to fish Ucluelet and the Barclay Sound for most of my life. Fishing is my life, and my Passion. I look forward to fishing with you and making new friends.

My Charter Listings

Ucluelet
trips from
US$ 500

Customer Reviews

3.50 out of 5 stars from 2 reviews

Boat
Crew
Overall
5 star
1
1
4 star
0
0
3 star
0
0
2 star
1
1
1 star
0
0

Went fishing on Saturday, July 22, 2017

We actually spend two days with Chris . He was our guide as well as the captain of the boat. First I have to say about our captain ; he was one guy rarely talked to us . The first day we only stay at one spot and didn’t go anywhere else ; we got two salmons at the end of the day ; but I have to agree they were quite big ; 16 lbs n 12 lbs . The next day we spend 6 hours n got 6 rock fishes. It was not our worst fishing trip but surely not an excited one . One other thing I have to point out is that the twin outboard engines spilled out terrible gas that made all of us felt silck even long after we left the boat . What a terrible experience.

Simon So does not recommend Hot Pursuit Charters

Fished July 2017

  • Boat
  • Crew
  • Overall
Chris Scales (The Captain)
Replied to this review on Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Hello Simon,
My name is Shawn Grant the owner of Hot Pursuit Charters.  I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your charter.  I did have a couple comments about your review that I feel is only fair to mention.  You did catch salmon on your trip and you lost more than a couple as well but unfortunately we cannot guarantee you will land all your fish once we get them on your line.  If you check our listing on Fishing Booker you will see that the species we fish for are Salmon and Halibut, not Rock Cod.  The water conditions did not permit us to take you safely out Halibut fishing but we did take you Rock Cod fishing. That was us trying to accommodate you and the 6 Rock Cod you did catch was a full limit for the day so we could not keep more than that.  As for the gas spilling out I am not sure what you mean by that.  We have new G2 Evinrudes on our boat because they are the cleanest burning outboards on the market and Evinrude has actually won awards because of it.  Even with all that said Simon we value customer satisfaction and if you book with us again we will add in 4 hrs of Rock Cod fishing no charge.

Shawn Grant
Owner of Hot Pursuit Charters

Went fishing on Thursday, July 6, 2017

One word, “Awesome”

Fished July 2017

  • Boat
  • Crew
  • Overall
Chris Scales (The Captain)
Replied to this review on Tuesday, July 11, 2017